Driftwood Decor

Incorporating bits of the natural world into your home is a great way to add texture to your overall design. The latest material that I’ve been working with is driftwood. While combing the beach last summer for seashells and sea glass I came across some beautiful pieces of driftwood, and decided I must find a way to use them in my latest projects. I like the different shapes of these small pieces of wood that have been perfectly smoothed by the sea, surf and sun.

I began adding these weathered pieces to my “treasure” pile, and before I knew it, I had enough pieces to fill a large glass vase to add to my nautical theme.  If you saw my post from yesterday, then you know that I love using glass vases filled with shells, sea glass, and now driftwood in my designs. It’s a great way to inexpensively add texture and dimension to your home decor.

After a trip to Hildreth’s in Southampton, NY this afternoon, I found that I am not the only one using driftwood as an interior design trend this season.  I found an abundance beautiful custom made tables, mirrors and furnishings made from driftwood.

Here’s a few shots of some beautiful driftwood furniture and home decor. The driftwood coffee table and two driftwood mirrors are available at Hildreth’s in Southampton.

Leave a Reply

